Brian Davis... was facing Jim Furyk in a playoff at the Verizon Heritage, and was trying to notch his first-ever PGA Tour win.By calling the violation on himself - something that was only noticeable on the TV replay in slow motion - he cost himself $400,000 and his first ever PGA tour win. That's honesty that is all too rare and too little appreciated in the world today.
Davis's approach shot on the first hole of the playoff bounced off the green and nestled in among some weeds... When Davis tried to punch the ball up onto the green, his club may have grazed a stray weed on his backswing.
So what's the big deal? This: hitting any material around your ball during your backswing constitutes a violation of the rule against moving loose impediments, and is an immediate two-stroke penalty. And in a playoff, that means, in effect, game over.
Okay, you can think that's a silly penalty or whatever, but that's not the point of this story. The point is that Davis actually called the violation on himself.
Monday, April 19, 2010
So Shines a Good Deed in a Weary World
From Yahoo Sports Golf Blog: