Name: Rachel Michelle
Nicknames: Rach (from Nick), Rae (from my family), Mom (from Alexa)  
Age: 25
Birthdate: September 16, 1986
Height: 5'2"
Eyes: Green
Hair: Medium Blond
Heritage: Italian and Irish
Education: Bachelor's in Recreation Management and Youth Leadership and a Master's in Public Administration
Occupation: Stay-at-home Mommy!
Church Calling: First Counselor in our congregation's Young Women's Presidency
Favorite Things to do: Play with Nicholas and The Bambino, Take and edit pictures, Play games with friends, Sing, Listen to music, and Read
Favorite Book: One book I LOVE is The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom
Favorite Outdoor Activity: Soccer, Kneeboarding, Going on Walks
Favorite T.V. Show: Seinfeld, Community, 30 Rock, Parenthood
Favorite Color: Red
Favorite Food: Spaghetti and Meatballs, Steak and Fries
Favorite Sport: Softball, Soccer, College Football
Indulgence: Candy, especially Cherry Sours

Hi there! I lead a rather simple life, but a song from my childhood reminds me that "It's a gift to be simple, it's a gift to be free." Here are some things I have done/do that may culminate into a great life by the time I am through:

*I was baptized. On September 18, 1994 in Keizer, OR I became a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and got my very first jean jacket. It was whiteish with a lace heart on one of the front pockets.

*I graduated high school. In June of 2004 I threw my cap in the air and celebrated the culmination of my education as a minor. During my K-12 educational career I participated in early morning seminary (4 years), softball (11 years), choir (7 years), orchestra (9 years), soccer (3 years), basketball (6 years), and the school musical production (1 year).

I made this poncho is second grade and HAD to take a picture after finding it in a box of stuff my parents had saved for me.

*I enrolled at Brigham young University. By August of 2004 I had made my way to Provo, UT where I finished with a Bachelor's in Recreation Management and Youth Leadership. It's one of the only majors that is listed in The Family: A Proclamation to the World: "Successful marriages and families are established and maintained on principles of...wholesome recreational activities."

*I smashed cake into my future husband's face for the first time on October 14, 2004. I did not know that would turn into celestial bliss, but I have never regretted a good food smashing and I don't intend to start now.

*I tried kneeboarding and water-skiing for the first time, and pretty much fell in love. We both thoroughly enjoy this pastime and do it whenever we can.


*I (with Nicholas) decided to pursue adoption. We knew we wanted a family, and we knew we needed help doing so. Other than saying "yes" to Nick's proposal, I have never been more sure that a decision was right for my future family as was this simple choice.

*Nick and I bought our first home! It was definitely a fixer-upper, but we have made a lot of progress so far on it and really enjoy making improvements together.


*I graduated with a Master's Degree in Public Administration on July 31, 2010. I was the first person in my parent's family to receive an advanced degree, which is pretty exciting!

*We brought our baby girl home from the hospital on February 20, 2011. Alexa (Aly, Bambino, The Lorax, etc.) was born to Ray and Melissa on February 18th, and we were blessed to be there for her birth and everyday since. She is such a joy and we love her and her biological parents more than we can say!

*Alexa was eternally sealed to our family on October 8, 2011. What an incredible day that was!

Well, those are some simple things that have made up my simple life so far. I look forward to all the future simple joys that will fill it up with excitement and adventure!